Dear visitor, you may have noticed our URL changed from brightspace-support.tudelft.nl to teaching-support.tudelft.nl. Don't worry, we are the same Support team, we just embraced a new name! Read more about it at teaching-support.tudelft.nl/news.

Deleting groups

Deleting groups

*An instructional video is also available for this topic. Scroll down if you wish to watch the video. *

 

Deleting groups is a destructive process in Brightspace. So we would like to talk about what the implications are.

When you delete groups you are warned that this will also delete assignment submission folders and discussion topics. If you have just set up the groups, this should not be a problem so you can go ahead and delete the newly created group.

Important: It is a problem however, if you already have assignment submission folders joined to the groups. Many times when we set up groups we also create these submission folders, for the groups to submit their work to. Should you go delete those groups, those submissions also be deleted.

  • If students have already uploaded work in a submission folder, that uploaded work will also go.
  • Similarly, any discussion forums that you’ve set up will also be removed and similarly if students have. So think carefully before you delete your groups.

To see the steps click the + below.

If you have just created groups and you realize you do not need them anymore, they are easy to delete.

  1. Go to Collaboration and then to Groups.;
  2. Select the Category and the groups, all or some, you wish to delete by using with the checkboxes
  3. Click Delete to erase the groups and Confirm.

Recovering data from such a deletion step is unfortunately not possible. A recommended strategy is to simply rename the groups to something beginning with an underscore or a “z”, so that when they are sorted they appear at the very top or the very bottom and you can ignore them.

When the course is complete and all the grades are submitted, then you might want to consider deleting the groups that were not used. Even then, please take note that you may need to keep some student work as evidence for accreditation or audits in the future. So do not remove these groups unless you’re absolutely certain you have a copy of the work.

When your course is re-run in following years, the groups are not transferred over. So in future years you have the chance to set it up again, without having the prior years’ groups being imported over.

Content not available.
Please allow cookies by clicking Accept on the banner

How to use this to improve your course

When your course is re-run in following years, the groups are not transferred over. So in future years you have the chance to set it up again, without having the prior years’ groups being imported over.

Contact us

Please send us an email and we'll get back to you.

Sending

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

By continuing to use this website, you agree with the use of cookies. More information

This website uses cookies of multiple categories: strictly necessary cookies, performance cookies and advertisement cookies. The strictly necessary cookies are used to verify whether you have given consent to the cookies before, whereas the performance cookies are used for insights in the usage of the website. Using the latter allows the admin of this domain to improve the experience on the website in the future. Some of the cookies are third-party, such as YouTube and Google Analytics.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close